Highway Department

Highway Superintendent – Daniel Van Saders
• phone: (845) 985-2543 • fax: (845) 985-2647 • email: highway@denning.us
Town of Denning – Highway Department
1444 Denning Road
Claryville, NY 12725

Highway Department Notices:

Highway crew hard at work preparing to repave our roads – August 2015

Snow Policy
Resolution No. 47 of 2016
September 13th, 2016
WHEREAS, New York State Town Law § 64 grants Municipalities the authority to enact legislation concerning the property, affairs and government of the Town, And

WHEREAS, New York State Town Law § 4-1 places the responsibility for general management and control of finances on the Town Board, And

WHEREAS, the Town Highway Superintendent is charged under Town Highway Law
§ 140 with executing the statutory responsibilities which include among other things the removal of snow thereby keeping Town roads free of ice and snow during the winter season. And

WHEREAS, it is the Town of Denning’s desire to keep roads in a passable condition for all of the Town residents when possible, however, due to the Tax Cap budgetary constraints, the Town is not able to keep roads clear on a twenty-four (24) hour basis.

WHEREAS, in past years the Highway Department has implemented this policy; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Denning Town Board wishes to have a formal public policy, and

WHEREAS, it has been determined in order for the roads to be cleared for school buses and residents; a 4:00 A.M. start time if necessary; and

WHEREAS, it has been the policy of the Highway Department to continue plowing and applying abrasives to the roads when necessary until 10:00 P.M.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the snow plowing hours for the Town of Denning roads are set to begin at 4:00 A.M. and continue until 10:00 P.M., when necessary, Monday thru Sunday.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that when contacted by Law Enforcement or Emergency Personnel the Highway Department will call out its plow crew after hours in the event of an emergency such as an accident or fire.

Motion to adopt and approve by Councilman Kevin Smith,
2nd by Councilman Paul Schoonmaker. Roll Call Vote:
Councilman Mike Dean AYE Councilman Paul Schoonmaker AYE
Councilman Kevin Smith AYE Councilman Gregory Vurckio Absent
Supervisor David Brooks AYE
Motion carried following a unanimous roll call vote, with one absentee.